An Introverted Social Butterfly

Lately, I have been trying to figure out why or why not I do or don’t belong in certain social groups. Why do I have an variety of friends, but only one or two deep friendships, yet still I keep them at a healthy comfortable distance.

I use to be so outgoing, extroverted, comfortable in crowds, several close friends, and excited about group events that involved many MANY people at times. This personality trait of mine, has changed. And MANY people from my former crowd would be incredibly surprised to hear (or read) me describe myself as an “introvert.”

Have you ever taken one of those personality quizzes? Have you taken one recently? You might be surprised (or not) to find out what your personality traits are. And after much consideration, I am proud to claim myself as an….

Introverted Social Butterfly…

How does that even make sense?

Well when I look at the characteristics of an introvert they are; “an introvert is a person who is energized by being alone and whose energy is drained by being around other people. Introverts are more concerned with the inner world of the mind. They enjoy thinking, exploring their thoughts and feelings. They often avoid social situations because being around people drains their energy. This is true even if they have good social skills. After being with people for any length of time, such as at a party, they need time alone to “recharge.”

SOOOO true for me nowadays! Not so true to myself 10+ years ago. And that is so weird to me. But makes total sense. I use to THRIVE on social functions. It filled my bucket, per say. It energized me. Now, it exhausts me. Tires me out. Depletes my energy. Which is weird because I’m very active in my church; I lead the children and family ministries; I sing on the praise team. I pretty front and center there.

But that’s where my social butterfly status comes in. According to Urban Dictionary (I know not a truly reliable source), a social butterfly is: “Someone who is VERY social and easygoing; can be either a male or a female. Usually these people don’t belong to a particular group, but rather jump from one group to another. They are somewhat accepted in all of them, but don’t really have any deep friendship connections in any of them.”

Again, that is me! To the “T.”

I jump from groups to groups .. I have been involved in numerous moms groups at one time, like 3 or 4, several separate groups of friends, many different church groups. And in most of them, I have failed to form those deep connections that we all need at one point or another. But why? Is it because social butterflies tend to have friendship ADD or is it that my introvertness denies me the ability to socialize. I am totally unsure. But I can tell you one thing; I am more than happy I have figured out my personality (at this point in my life).

Are you an introvert? Extrovert? Social Butterfly? Loner?

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

